New faces elected into the National Executive Print

New faces elected into the National Executive (2017-2021)

A new ZIMTA National Executive is now in place and is expected to run from April 2017 to April 2021.

Created on 17 May 2017



he elections which were held on the 26th of April at the 36th ZIMTA Annual National Conference saw Richard Gundane being re-elected as the National President unopposed. He will be president for the next four years.

Thomas Muzondo ,Violet Mutize and Elizabeth Mahiyana  were the vying for the National Deputy President post but Thomas Muzondo and Elizabeth Mahiyana emerged as the winners.

This year’s conference saw Edgar Moyo and Shamiso Makumbe resigning from ZIMTA .Edgar Moyo who held the National Treasurer post for a couple of years was replaced by John Mulilo who  was once  the National Secretary General.

The National Secretary General post had three contestants namely John Mulilo ,Winnie Kabanda and Tapson Nganunu Sibanda.As the race drew closer John Mulilo and Winnie Kabanda withdrew their candidature leaving Tapson Nganunu Sibanda as the unopposed winner.

The National Women Teachers Representative seat was highly contested with 5 contenders , Elizabeth Mahiyana ,Mercy Muradzikwa, Esther Gunda, Mirriam Mandizvidza ,Faith Mangani and Winnie Kabanda but it was Esther Gunda who was once Primary School Teachers Representative who emerged as the final winner.
New comers Eunice Bhobho and Mugari Mutumbi contested against Innocent Gumunyu who was currently holding the post for the Secondary Schools Teachers’ Representative. Mugari Mutumbi lost leaving Eunice Bhobho and Innocent Gumunyu as title holders.

For the Primary Schools Teachers Representative post,there were five candidates namely ,Sibanda Leonard ,Chikomo Juliet , Mangani Faith , Manyanye Philip and Chiponda Erasmus .A dramatic twist of events saw  Chikomo Juliet ,Leonard Sibanda and Faith Mangani grabbing the post.

National Tertiary Educators Representative Elisha Ndanga retained his post after competing with Simon Masiiwa. A candidate from Harare Province Fouster Mhlanga was elected National Advisory Council Member after knocking out his rivals Gift Musafiri from Harare Province and Bekhisisa Ngwenya from Matebeleland South Province.

Women representation remained unchanged at 25% with 7 women elected in the National Executive.

The National Executive Committee saw a number of new women coming into the game with the likes of Faith Mangani who secured the Primary Schools Representative post and Eunice Bhobho taking the Secondary Schools Representative position.

Male novices included Fouster Mhlanga who took the National Advisory Council Member post with Alec Buthelezi grabbing the Matebleland North Provincial Representative seat while Constatino Madhuyu attained the Midlands Provincial Representative office and Hove Mutsigiri taking Manicaland Provincial Representative seat.

Speaking just after the elections, some members who had participated in the voting process expressed hope and confidence in the new team saying the energy levels were quiet promising.